As if heard from within

Invitation to listen from within

Poster by Leslie Roeser

This music has no air or light. It is a weak heart beat, you cannot ask it to reach more than a few inches into space, but it’s mission is to reach the profound depths of our soul and the secret regions of our spirit’s spirit. This music is silent as if heard from within. Contained and reserved. Its emotion is secret and only becomes sound from resonance under the cold cape of our society. It is my desire that this music, should bring us closer to the warmth of life, and the expression of the human heart, that is always the same and constantly changing.

— Federico Mompou on his work Musica Callada


Prelude and Fugue in C major, Op. 87, No. 1, Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 – 1975)

II. Triste, from Doce Preludios Americanos, Op. 12, Alberto Ginastera (1916 – 1983)

IV. Calmo e poetic, from Suite De Danzas Criollas, Op. 15, Alberto Ginastera

Gnossienne No. 4, Erik Satie (1866 -1925)

Preludes, Alexander Scriabin (1872 -1915)

   D-flat major, Op. 11, No. 15
   B-flat major, Op. 11, No. 21
   G-flat major, Op. 16, No. 3
   E-flat minor, Op. 16, No. 4
   B major, Op. 16, No. 1
   G-sharp minor, Op. 22, No. 1
   E major, Op. 15, No. 4

V. La vallée des cloches, from Miroirs, Maurice Ravel (1875 -1937)

— Intermission —

II. Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut , from Images, Book 2, Claude Debussy (1862 -1918)

Música Callada, Federico Mompou (1893 -1987)
   I. Angelico
   III. Placide
   VII. Lento
   VIII. Semplice
   XVIII. Luminoso
   XXVII. Lento molto
   XXVIII. Lento

Spiegel im Spiegel, Arvo Pärt (b. 1935), with Amanda Durst, cello

Return to Programs